Cinco de Mayo…or Drinko?

Some people call it Cinco de Mayo some Cinco de Drinko, I chose to call it a full day of work. Cinco de Mayo has always taken priority since I started in the band three years ago because we have a lot of gigs.

We always start the day off at lunchtime at a delicious Panini and sandwich shop in Emeryville, CA . Ruby’s Café is always fun to play at. People come for their daily lunch and are surprised by the eight piece mariachi band serenading them while they enjoy margaritas, Cornitas, chips and salsa and of course guacamole.

This year was no different the people, amused by our sounds even started danced along on the sidewalk to Mariachi Loco.

After three hours of pure entertainment we took a lunch break at El Tapatio in San Pablo where we always get treated like royalty.

Next we did our annual gig at Celia’s Mexican Restaurant. This is one of my favorite times of the year because I really get to see the joy in people’s face when they hear us play. Although the excessive consumption of alcohol might have something to do with it, the whole night is a huge party.

As we walk from table to table asking for requests, people are eager for us to play their favorite songs. Some people know what they want right away and some take some time and ask questions digging back into their memories in search of their beloved songs.

After three hours of music at Celia’s we counted our tips and earnings and headed on our way.

Exhaustion and really bad allergies kicked in and I was ready to call it a night as I made my way back to school in San Jose. To my surprise San Jose is chaotic on Cinco de Mayo and my journey back home turned into an excursion, but that’s a different story.

~ by mariachime on May 8, 2011.

Leave a comment